Ginger Tea: The Key to Creative Inspiration?

December 31, 2008

0011 Today is December 31st, 2008. Today is the last day of the last month of the last year.

And today I will start out the day like every other day drinking a cup of ginger tea to which I add a teasponfull of Joann’s Raw “Chicory” Honey (“bee-made in the Pacific Northwest”) and stir. The sweet, spicy smell of ginger dances up to my nose and wraps itself around my taste buds as I carefully sip the tea that reminds me of all things old-fashioned: my grandmother, lace curtains, pork and sauerkraut on New Year’s day, a trip to Stonebreaker’s Pharmacy where I sit on the high, red stool beside my grandfather sipping a chocolate phosphate and crunching on a salty stick pretzel.

My tea talks to me. Each day a new slogan appears on the tag attached to the bag. Today my tea advised me that “To learn, read. To know, write. To master, teach.”

The tea slogans are often trite – “To be calm is the highest achievement of the self,” “Truth is everlasting” and other predictible sentiments set forth by a tea guru (or his groupies) Yogi Bhajan, the man with the white hair and beard (without the turban he’d be a dead ringer for an East Indian Santa Claus) who appears on all the Yogi Tea boxes.

Normally I make fun of the tea tags but today I believe the words have been printed just for me.

“That’s it!,” I crow. After ten years of daily drinking ginger tea Yogi Bhajan finally gets it right! For once the tea tag mysteriously reads my mood and describes, like Serendipity come for a visit, exactly where I am and where I need to be.

Because right now the only thing I can think about is writing and I’ve spent the last week pondering the magic of writing a blog. I’m like a ten year old with her first pair or roller skates who refuses to take them off for dinner or for bed; and like that ten year old, I sit with my laptop perched in front of me at the kitchen table right next to my cereal bowl, on my lap at the tea house as I sip my 500,000 mile chai and yes, even propped up on my knees on top of the quilt as I lounge in the pillows next to my sleeping husband just trying to get in one more post before it’s time for bed.

I am obsessed with the fine art of blogging and have been trying to put my right index finger directly on what it is about “publishing” words on a computer page that basically no one reads that is so completely intoxicating.

Yogi Tea's Yogi Bhajan

Yogi Tea's Yogi Bhajan

And here comes Yogi Bhajan with the answer on the tip of a teabag. Of course! To create a blog I read and reserach, explore and write and finally share.

So here I sit with a cup of steaming tea held tightly between my two cold hands as I grasp the mug in hopes of finding warmth and inspiration; silently I apologize to Yogi Bhajan for every time I’ve ever made fun of his pithy ponderings. I watch the steam float up from the cup and listen to my thoughts speed by – ideas popping like champagne corks – and think about what, on this very last day of this very last month in this very last year, I most want to learn, know and master before the clock ticks twelve.

2 Responses to “Ginger Tea: The Key to Creative Inspiration?”

  1. Jen Says:

    I love it!! I love those tiny moments where the universe decides we are listen so it speaks to us. Sometimes in the form of a bumper sticker, sometimes in a tv show or movie and sometimes on a tea bag. Way to be alert enough to read it, process it and realize it was written just for you!

    • Bijou Says:

      Jen! Thanks so much for tuning in. Now you know what is really going on in my brain during the time I’m pretending to be a realtor. Always thinking, wondering, pondering and, yes, obsessing over the tiniest details of life.


Leave a Reply

